Carnivalism Beauty is in the Beat


Carnivalism Mix CD TWO

Our second CD was to celebrate our 1st birthday and gave copies out to guests as we took over the North Pole for the two days of the Notting Hill Carnival, 2003.

Far too many songs to talk about here but a mention does have to go to DJ Gregory and his classic Block Party. Real name Grégory Darsa has been producing since the late 90’s and is responsible for Parisian House label Faya Combo. Block Party was released in 2000 and I think for me epitomises the sound that Carnivalism tries to achieve. I probably didn’t discover until it Gilles Peterson aired it on his Worldwide show in 2001. The show One Live in London was broadcasted live from Plastic People and included an unforgettable set by Jazzanova.

Click here to visit his DJ Gregory’s myspace page

Subscribe in iTunes Download

right-click-and-save on a PC // ctrl+click on a Mac 

  1. Intro from 2001: A Space Odyssey
  2. Don’t Stop ’til You Get Enough – Derek Laro & Trinity
  3. Wiggle Waggle – Herbie Handcock
  4. Wesley Music – RSL
  5. Block Party – DJ Gregory
  6. Nervous – New Mastersounds
  7. Got to be Me – H2O
  8. Was it Real – Amma
  9. Play the Game – Kenny Hawkes feat. Louise Carver
  10. One Day at a Time – Blak Beat Niks
  11. Feelin’ love – Soulsearcher
  12. Excuse Me! – Nu rican kidz
  13. Arse Wiggle – Chris Lum
  14. Men are Not Nice Guys – Grand Popo Football Club
  15. Gonna Keep on – Soul of Man
  16. The Drum – Soul of Man
  17. Workappella – MAW
  18. Fade to Grey – Tomahawk
  19. The King – Sharem Jey
  20. The Funk Hits the Fan – The Plump Djs
  21. Automatic – The Pointer Sisters

One Response to Carnivalism Mix CD TWO

  1. Pingback: Carnivalism » Archive » Carnivalism Fridays No. 97 – New Mastersounds – Nervous » Carnivalism

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *